myeagerhands

Heirloom Tomatoes

Posted on: August 19, 2011

I stopped at a wonderful country farm-stand yesterday and purchased these striking vegetables!

Phenomenal variegated tomatoes!

A gigantic yellow one!

There were also several golf ball sized perfectly round, red, juicy tomatoes, and two or three large slicing tomatoes.

The baby ugly tomatoes were eaten like cherries on our way home so they are not in this photo.   I’m not sure of their variety but after doing a quick online search I think they might have been Costoluto Genovese.  Aren’t they cool?

Today for lunch I had a fresh salad made with several of the small variegated tomatoes and a spring mix of baby lettuces, greens and radicchio. I devoured it with the Lemon Caesar dressing that our family loves.

 

I also picked up purple basil and the most lovely variegated baby eggplant!

I’d love to find a “summer version” of egglant parmesan.  I like my own recipe but I usually make it in the wintertime because it’s hearty and filling.  I’m going to be looking for a lighter version to make with these fresh vegetables.  This is truly farm to table!

Leave a Reply

Categories

